Document Type


Publication/Presentation Date



Dr. Leroy T. Walker served as president of the American Alliance For Health, Physical Education and Recreation (AAHPER) from 1977 to 1978. The Association is now the American Alliance for Health , Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD). He received an AAHPER Honor Award in 1972 and was awarded the Luther Halsey Gulick Medal in 1982. In 1985 Walker was recipient of the Charles D. Henry Award.

This project is an oral history of American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance retired leaders: Alliance presidents and national award recipients. This interview is with Dr. Leroy Walker, on March 29, 1990 in New Orleans, Louisiana. Interviewers are Allys Swanson, Associate Professor of Physical Education at the College of St. Catherine, St. Paul, Minnesota, and Sharon Van Oteghen, Professor of Health and Sport Sciences at University of Memphis, Memphis, Tennessee.